Work Class OpenROV

Greetings

First a little introduction before I jump into my design project. I am a 26 year old Lieutenant in the US Navy and my primary job is driving the "big grey things". I currently do not own an OpenROV due to me being on my 3rd deployment, but I plan on buying one as soon as I get back. My degree was in Military History, a bit different from everyone else in this group as I'm no engineer, but I specialize in researching and finding things. My other hobby is large scale RC warships so I do have a knack for building things.

In addition, I own my own 33' fishing boat, which is due for an electronics refit this summer. I also plan to outfit her with an A-frame for survey work. I have already started on my purchase of a towed PPM magnetometer and the side scan sonar is next on my list.

I grew up in Southern CA and underwater exploration has always been on my mind. I remember reading all the Clive Cussler novels when I was a kid and got scuba certified when I was 15. I got advanced certified when I was 17, but time, money and lack of buddies meant my plans were a little curtailed.

Last year after my second deployment, I spent much of my free time researching all the known shipwrecks off Southern CA. It seems as though every wreck within 100 feet (30m) has been found, identified and documented numerous times by local divers, but almost everything after that is a mystery. The UB88 team (www.ub88.org) has done a good job of finding almost every military wreck in the area so I don't really want to step on their toes.