What should I use for motors in a small custom-built ROV?

propulsion

Hi,
I’m really a beginner when it comes to ROVs and hardware (I prefer to code if I have a choice), so please bare with me.

TL;DR: What’s a relatively easy to use & maintain, low cost, goes in salt water solution for ROV motors?

So, I’ve been researching motors for ROVs, and the ones used in OpenROV. The problem is, from what I’ve read, brushless DC motors (like the ones you use) are really complex and expensive to control (with the ESCs and everything). I know that servos are very easy to control, and so are regular DC motors: but I can’t find any servos or regular DC motors that would be strong enough to power an ROV.
I’ve heard you can also use bilge pumps as motors.
Any ideas on what I should do?

Sorry if this is in the wrong category, feel free to move it c:

If it helps, I’d like to do this with an Arduino Uno R3 hooked up via serial to a BeagleBone Black, but I’m open to suggestions.

A lot depends upon the depth (pressure) at which you intend to operate your ROV. If you use bilge pumps for motors this factor becomes critical. Most bilge pumps are water resistant by means of bushings and seals which keep water from entering through the shaft opening. Pressure at significant depth can cause these seals to fail or to deform and bind the shaft. Much work has been done with magnetically coupled drive units where the motor is absolutely sealed from outside water environment. These can be purchased or even manufactured by the hobbyist with some technical and mechanical skill & the proper tools. Magnetically coupled thrusters could theoretically be powered by regular DC motors. However, I feel that brushless motors will offer better control and variety, as well as more durability. If you look on-line at e-bay you will find that you can usually purchase ESC/Motor combos at a reasonable price.