Water/pressure proofing a pressure sensor

Hi All,

I'm using a Rapsberry Pi with BMP085 pressure sensor to measure depth, however the sensor isn't waterproof. I have considered a two options, the first being; housing the sensor in a case with a small drilled hole which is covered by a flexible membrane, which in turn will deform as pressure increases.

Second option would be to buy an IMU depth module from the OpenRov store which is already water proofed, but £45 ($80) IMO seems expensive. Also I'm a beginner with Python so if I did consider buying the module I'd like to be able to play change the code to suit my other Python programs.

I'd like to know if anyone can offer any advice on materials for the flexible membrane, or whether anyone has any other suggestions regarding to waterproofing my BMP085?

Thanks in advance

Hey Jamie!

There are certainly quite a few options for you, but I'm nervous that the pressure sensor you're using is only meant to measure the kind of pressure differences you'd get from changes in (air) altitude- not (water) depth. According to this spec sheet, the BMP085 only measures up to 1100 hPa which translates to just slightly over one atmosphere of pressure.