Use of OpenROV for middle school?

Aloha

I'm looking for some guidance on how complicated the build and operation is on OpenROV. From what I've seen/read it is somewhat more than a VEX robot (given the glue, linux, etc).

I've been asked by a local charter school to help with a grant to get several of the OpenROV kits, build them with the middle school class (6th grade) and then operate them in local fish pond/off beaches (Maui, Hawaii). Later years the kids could use the completed bots for more indepth surveys as well as platforms for enhancements.

Is this too big a stretch for 6th grade or perhaps doable?

Much thanks

Jerry Isdale

http://mauimakers.com

Hey Jerry,

I'm a high school student who has competed for two years in VEX competition and am now building an OpenROV (from scratch, but I'm confident my experience will apply to the kit). I'll give you my perspective from having done both.

Building isn't that much more labor intensive than VEX because the epoxy is much easier to deal with than all the tiny vex screws. That being said, it will require some extra care to make sure nothing goes wrong, as here any failure could wreck $150 of electronics. This might, however, be a good way to have the kids figure out how to test the electronics and battery tubes before they put the electronics in.

Programming could be another story. If you are just using the standard design, you don't really need to worry about anything more than loading the images to the SD card. I don't know which language you use for the VEX programming, but arduino code at least isn't too big of a step up from the RobotC or the more advanced versions of easyC.