Underwater cave 3D mapping?

Hi everyone,

I thought it was a good place to ask my question since some of you are very active. I’m a researcher working on geological problems that involve underwater karst systems.

I’m seriously considering buying a Trident to perform some photogrammetry to generate 3D models of different types of cave. I know it’s possible and feasable to do it on sea or lake bottom when the surface is kinda flat but do you think it still works if the ROV has to take pictures of the cave roof ? What possible technical issues could we face ?

Thank you very much for your answers !

Lucas

Hello,

I am also interested to do 3D cave mapping.
As we started using OpenROV to explore deep siphons in our caves, we also need to make documentation.
I would love to be able to make a recording and build a 3D model based on one run , as diving in the siphon (based on the last year experience - manouvering, water flow, underwater rocks, etc) is not an easy task, Especially coming back, when the water is not clear anymore.

From the surveying point of view simple telemetry is not enough as the quality of data degradates quickly. My cave partner who is a professional surveyor is never happy enough with the measurements. The solution is to use different data from other sources.
ROV can make pictures (even tons of them), record the movie and also telemetry, but the issue is to make 3D based on all data, first we would need a common timeline for all of them (which is probably achievable as pics and movies have timestamps, second the data from all sources need to be processed to the 3D model. There is SLAM algorithm used by professionals to make 3D mappings:

This is what I would like to achieve with OpenROV.

It should be possible to align all data coming from pics, movie and telemetry as BBB and arduino record all events in the logs but I did not figure it out yet.