The BorgCube ROV build

Okay folk, I’ve been encourage to post my build progress, such as it is, so people can take a look, follow along, comment, and be generally helpful and point out my foolishness. So here we go …

I became interested in ROVs last year and decided I should build my own. By profession I’m a software/hardware engineer, so rather than doing the sensible thing and buying an OpenROV kit as my first project, I decided to build everything - the robot frame, its electronics, and its software - from scratch. To make my life every harder, I have given this thing stereo vision (two movable cameras), an underwater manipulator arm, and 12 (yes I know) thrusters to give the ROV complete freedom of movement in the water. And because software for such a bot doesn’t exists, I’m writing that too. One could charitably call this “experimental”.

The above photo is a snapshot as the BorgCube sits on my floor this evening. No thrusters attached yet, and the electronics are currently on my desk. I will try to update as assembly continues.

Much more information on this build can be found on Hackaday (https://hackaday.io/project/8343-borgcube-rov) and the software (very much a work in progress) is on GitHub (https://github.com/aanon4/borgcube-rov).

I have lots of work to do yet, but feedback/encouragement/constructive criticism is appreciated.

Will it work in a big river?

Hi Tim,
I’ve been following your posts over on Hackaday for a few weeks now and I am most intrigued. Nice to see I’m not the only one building big :slightly_smiling:

A manipulator arm is definitely on my to-do list, however the current crop of waterproof servos aren’t depth rated for anything meaningful. Here is a bit of a review on the Traxxas ones. I imagine the Hi-tec ones would be the same. (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=485.0) anyway I’m interested to see how it turns out.