Tether diameter question

Hello! I am new to ROVs and I am looking for a simple explanation of the advantages of a thinner diameter tether. I understand the less drag the further the ROV is away from shore. I also understand the longer my tether is the more power loss I will have sending power to my ROV. Is there an easy way to illustrate this? If my ROV has a 4.5mm tether that is 300m meters in length and I have another ROV with a 10mm tether and is 300m in length, how do I quantify performance issues, loss of power to the ROV? Any suggestion would be super helpful. Thank you in advance for your help!

G’day wprice,

This is a complex problem that is best demonstrated and understood by undertaking some practical testing. Practical tests are also fun.

The theories that apply to hydrodynamic forces on cables require careful modelling of geometry and the application of factors for drag that are in turn governed by the types of flow around the tether (see this old but still relevant paper on the subject of submerged cables).

The simple equation for drag on a tether is given at Equation 1 on Page 9 (1) of the document however this equation becomes more complicated if you want to calculate an accurate result for an operational scenario…hence the benefit of practical testing with a spring scale or a digital load cell attached to a tether.

For example the force on a 1.0m long 4.5mm diameter tether being dragged sideways through seawater at 2.5m/s is approximately 1026/2 x 1.1 x 1.0 x 0.0045 x 2.5^2=15.9N (assuming a coefficient of drag of 1.1, which is the highly variable factor). Please note the force is a function of velocity squared so it increases rapidly for any increase in current velocity.