Summer Software Intern & Marine Scientist at OpenROV

software

Hey Fellow Marine Enthusiasts!

My name is Megs and I am an intern at OpenROV this summer! I wanted to introduce myself to the community and say how excited I am to be a part of this incredible movement. I just completed my Freshman year at Brown University and am planning on double concentrating in Computer Science and Marine Ecology. In my free time, I enjoy sailing, snorkeling, and SCUBA diving (really anything on the ocean ;))!

This summer, my goal is to contribute to the citizen science movement by creating a plugin in the ROV that allows user to collect and share data that evaluates the water column (temperature, light, etc. with respect to depth) when flying the ROV. I am really excited about this project because it brings together my passions in both CS and Marine Biology. So far, my plan is to break this project into two key parts:

Part 1: Create a browser plug in that collects various sensor data with respect to depth. At the end of the dive, the water column profile should be visually displayed to the user, and a “sync to cloud” button in the cockpit will allow this data to be sent to the cloud with various other metrics (including GPS, date, time, and sensor specs) that will later enable us to qualify the data. We want to capture and store the raw sensor data, calibration, and the meta data around the precision and general performance of the sensor in use. While we will calibrate the OpenROV sensors ourselves, users can expand the scope of the ROV by adding their own sensors and calibrations (we are open source after all).