Structure From Motion

I have just discovered your site today and it appears to be a very exciting project.

I am doing a masters with my thesis being:
3D reconstruction in the ocean environment combining photography with subsea postioning sensors.

This is project that will produce 3D data from photography using photogrammetry. This is more than the standard SFM approach as full quality and error will be generated from the data. This is required if it is to be used for survey quality mapping projects.

I have two questions:

1. Are you using any positioning sensors ?
    Gyro,motion sensors and/or acoustic from the surface

2. Are any members willing to sure imagery with me and I will process and share the results on this forum.

Best regards,

Alan

Alan

Maybe a little more info on yourself and what you are looking for and I can flick some data through

We have had a number of people (myself included) who have played in SfM have a look through as a quick brush up of where we are up to

Realistically with a base line you can get pretty good results have a look at the image where we had a good tie back to the tape and the measuring sticks in the image

Scott,
Thanks for your reply and the document on SFM. Much
appreciated.

My background is that I am a surveyor who has worked in the
    offshore oil and gas industry for a number of year. I am also a
    computer programmer who has worked on many survey related
    projects.
  I am currently complete a Masters at Curtin University under
    the Spatial Sciences Department.
  I have attached my candidacy paper for this research project.
    [Your mail server wouldn't accept my document. I can send to an
    alternate address if you ]

The project is a software project that although it can produce
    models similar to Agisoft and VisualSFM, has a more theoretical
    approach with error analysis and full photogrammetric techniques
    being a major component. Basically I have to demonstrate a full