Structure From Motion For Free

software

Hi everyone!

Some of you may remember me as the intern who was super interested in computer vision. I recently joined the OpenROV team full-time to help @badevguru @charlesdc with the OpenROV software, but I have also been working in my free time on a variety of computer vision projects.

Specifically, I have brought this amazing thread back to life by helping some of the community members out with structure from motion compute rigs and software. Actually, if you peek in that thread, you can see that I recently posted a long list of open-source photogrammetry and structure from motion software. Well, compiling that list got me very excited about the possibility of creating 3D meshes from my photos, so I had to try it out! Here are my results.

Caveat: While VisualSFM is open-source and free, I am recommending that you use it for personal use only. I am not a lawyer, but last time I checked VisualSFM is for personal, non-commercial use only.

I started off by borrowing a camera from someone in the lab taking around 60 images of a 2.8 ROV sitting on a table from various angles. Here is an example of one of the images:

Then, I followed the instructions here for installing VisualSFM. I am using Ubuntu. Here is the result from the command lsb_release -a:

Distributor ID:	Ubuntu
Description:	Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS
Release:	16.04
Codename:	xenial

And the results of the command uname -r
4.4.0-45-generic

If your computer is similar to mine, I can definitely help you with installation! The installation steps detailed in the link above are thorough, though, so I doubt you will have trouble installing. If you have any questions, please feel free to ping me.

After installing VisualSFM and its dependencies, I followed this blog post on how to setup a usable VisualSFM workflow. I highly recommend reading through this post; it is very useful and even provides some interesting technical details.