Steps to setup an external servo on a 2.7?

I currently have the six extra wires potted through the endcap free, is powering/controlling a servo with these feasible? I plan to use the servo operate a claw. I am a novice as far as the electronics and coding but imagine connecting the servo to those cables and any wiring on the boards would be similar to things done building the 2.7 from a kit and that I could copy the servo controls for the camera servo without too much effort. Any assistance or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Chan

@codewithpassion has a plugin that he has been testing to enable servo control with the extra channels without having to code anything. Getting that would be the simplest solution.

I would imagine my first steps would be to solder and heat shrink the servo wires for ground, power and control to 3 of the spare wires and use a multimeter to see where those wires connect on the board(unless the cables are marked in some way I hadn’t noticed). after that I am at a loss, would one option presuming no additional coding or plugin use be to wire wherever the extras wires connect to a servo connector and plug that in in place of the camera connector? Additionally where should I expect those 6 wires to be on the board?

I’m not familiar with the plug-in referenced above, but for the hardware you’ll need to do a little work. You may want to see what the plug-in expects for a hardware configuration before modifying anything.

With that said, I think you’re on the right track. I believe what you need to do is trace your free wires at the end of the harness to whichever test points you want to use, e.g. 20, 21, and 22.