ROV hangs and won't reconnect

solved
software

Hello,

I'm a noob who just got my ROV working this past weekend. Very cool but of course there are a few glitches to work through. Hoping someone can help with these.

First some background: I'm working with Open ROV kit 2.6. Batteries are fully charged. I received the kit around July 15th so I *think* the latest firmware is already loaded and I should not need to load from a SD card or get new firmware from GitHub (which seems to be from Open ROV 2.5 anyway).

Problems:

1. I've seen the "camera not working" problem multiple times. I've had it working on my test bench, but in my underwater tests it always seems to fail to show anything. This has nothing to do with the water, just murphy's law that when you want to use it you're out of luck. Anyway, I saw some posts from June giving various workarounds - like reloading firmware, stopping the cockpit and restarting, etc. Have the experts on this forum converged on the best solution to this problem?
  2. In trying to solve problem #1, I re-installed firmware. This worked on the testbench but when I used the ROV in the water the camera again was not working. I tried to re-install the firmware at that point and the installation seemed to fail. It started compiling but then seemed to hang there forever. I attempted to reboot the ROV by pulling the USB power cord from my computer but that did not seem to work. I was never able to connect to the ROV again from my (Chrome) browser. LEDs sortof look like they are going through the boot sequence but I can't really tell. I also tried to reboot by disconnecting the USB and one of the ROV battery packs but again, after booting I could still not connect. This is a problem because I can't re-install firmware if I can't connect through Chrome. What do I need to do in order to reset the ROV to be sure it will reboot correctly? If I cannot connect to the ROV via Chrome, is there another way to reset the ROV, or download firmware to it?