Reducing mjpg-streamer delay

Hi all,

I just started working with mjpg-streamer and I'm trying to figure out how to reduce the constant delay in the video. I can do anything from 640x480@30fps up to 1280x720@20fps with no problems, but at any resolution and any framerate, there is always about a 1.5 second delay. Any suggestions on how to reduce that?

Thanks

Our of curiosity, as you seeing any correlation on either the beaglebone CPU or your laptops browser processor utilization? I ask because either could be contributing to delays. We have noticed that video is a lot choppier on older laptops... the mjpeg video display via the browsers is not terribly efficient.

How would I check that on the beaglebone? I have zero experience with linux command line. My laptop isn't bogged down at all and CPU utilization is very low. Only a few percent due to the video.

Video is always extremely choppy in browsers, again at every resolution, every framerate. I've been using VLC because it runs smooth as silk.

If you have a more recent version of the Cockpit software, it has the % displayed on the bottom of the screen. Alternately, if you login to the beagle you can run the 'top' command (ctrl-c or x to exit). It shows all of the running processes that you can add up to get rough %cpu used.

On the server, we tend to use the development build of chrome as they have the gamepad support. On a fast computer, the video should be smooth, but it does chew up a core as the video does not tend to work across multiple cores when using a browser. (In task manager you would see a browser process using 25% cpu on a 4 core processor).

I'll do some more testing, but interestingly enough, when I was using the browser and VLC side by side, VLC has a noticeably longer delay.

This is what I am currently tinkering with, too. So I want to share what I found so far regarding the video delay. It turns out that depends on

a) the performance of the computer running the browser