Pressure compensator, fluid filled solutions

Hi guys!

I found this forum just now :slight_smile:

I’m a student of Chalmers university of technology in Gothenburg, Sweden, and right now I’m writing om my master thesis. The project I’m working on is a device that will operate in the sea, maybe 10 - 30 down, and right now the focus is pressure compensation. In my pre study I want to cover the basics of pressure compensation and describe different solutions.

I found a handbook that I have been using but it is a bit old. The title of the book is “Handbook of Fluid-Filled, Depth/Pressure-Compensating Systems for Deep Ocean Applications” written by Thomas H. Mehnert for the Deep Ocean Technology Program in Naval Ship Research and Development Center Annapolis, Laboratory and published in 1972. And it can be found here: http://oai.dtic.mil/oai/oai?verb=getRecord&metadataPrefix=html&identifier=AD0894795 and then press “PDF Url”.

From there I can find basic information regarding:

• Hard shell concept
  • Encapsulation
  • Fluid compensation

I believe the fluid compensation concept is the best suited for the device and I’ve been digging into what type of solutions there is, this is what I have so far:

• Flexible bladder type
  • Bellows or convoluted tube
  • Diaphragms
  • Spring-loaded piston

But the book is from 1972…so am I missing something here? Some new sort of smart compensation device or system? :slight_smile: Any information would be helpful! Sorry for my poor English.

Have a great day
Oscar

Pressure compensation is a cool concept, it helps to save weight and cost of specialized connectors. Be careful, all of the items you mention have some kind of polymer in contact with a metal. You need to think about cathodic delamination. Usually happens over long term submersion, but can happen very quickly if you set things up wrong.

http://www2.mbari.org/~coletti/dropbox/isus/ForSatlantic/CathodicDelamTalk/MBARI%20Presentation.pdf