Posting with Firefox

Hopefully I can post with Firefox. I was wondering if you could post the code used for ROV1. I am currently planning to build a ROV with a somewhat similar design as ROV1 over the summer when school is out.I already have designed my ROV and I have most of the electronics figured out, but I'm really stuck on coding. Unfortunately I have no programming experience, besides very basic HTML, but luckily that will change next year when I take my first programming course :) Another question, what is that clear tube called, and where did you get it?

Thanks in advance

Zach

I designed the hull in Inventor. This hull has the minimum amount of holes for wires, 1, which is for the tether. The motors operate from the inside of the hull thanks to magnetic couplers. To waterproof the tether, I am going to use a garden hose. It can screw in and make it watertight, and the hose itself is light, flexible, and cheap. Perfect for a tether. The only hard part is running the wires through the hose, but it can be doneā€¦:stuck_out_tongue:

Zach,

I'll try to post the code I used for ROV-1 in the next few days (there are two separate bits of code- some that goes on the onboard Arduino, and some that runs on the computer you're using to talk to the Arduino from the surface).

The clear tube is cast acrylic which can be bought from a website like McMaster-Carr. Here's a link to the 2.5 OD tube I used:

http://www.mcmaster.com/#tubing/=c9617r

Make sure you get CAST acrylic- not extruded- as extruded tends to have wavy lines running along its length as a result of the extrusian process which interferes with optical clarity. I plan to release the initial design for the second ROV I've been working on soon, and you may find that that design is easier to build and has greater capabilities.