OpenROV # 3440 arrives in the UK

Feel just like a kid on Christmas morning. Even down to not opening it until I’d finished my breakfast! That’s a nice feeling at my age.
Dispatch and shipping was excellent, apart from the tracking information drying up when it reached the UK. Many big commercial companies could learn a lot from these guys.
It is beautifully packed and the red hat is the icing on the cake.
I might do a little bit on the electronics this evening, to get my feet wet. I’m an electronic engineer and Labview programmer but have no experience of Beaglebone and very little of Linux. However, I’m hoping to be able to do some fancy stuff in Labview.
More soon.

Mine’s not quite here yet… arriving before 6!

Haha! That wasn’t the sound of a gauntlet hitting the floor was it?
I won’t start until 6.30.

Well I don’t quite believe it. I had a free afternoon and I have now completed the first 2 guides, up to doing the epoxy.

That part was particularly difficult and messy because I didn’t get epoxy with nozzles, so I mixed it up and then splodged it into a 5ml syringe. I had to fill it about 4 times to pot the wires, but it worked well in the end.

I don’t understand why there are 3 battery tube endcaps. I hope one is a spare, because I have made a mistake on one of them.

Looking forward to doing the electronics, that is definitely in my comfort zone.

Andrew

I managed to finish my kit with a couple of good sessions. I’ve been doing electronics for many years and the one thing that you can usually rely on is that it won’t work first time. This is quite wonderful, plug it in and everything works! I’m astonished. I’ve managed to focus and calibrate the lasers, get the motors working the right way and do a pretend fly.

The only issue I have is that I have done a vacuum test and there is a slight leak somewhere. It won’t hold 300mm H2O but it will just about seal at 100mm H2O. Don’t know where to start looking really.