OpenROV 2.8 Developer's Controller Kit

Hi All,
I just received the OpenROV 2.8 Developer’s Controller Kit and would like to know if anyone here on the Forum has had any experience with the Developer’s Controller Kit?
I have throughout reviewed the online OpenROV 2.8 Electronic Assembly documentation and working with the Kit looks to be pretty straight forward.
I am an experienced System Engineer with a good electronic/mechanical background, but I still would appreciate input from those who have had experience with this Kit to avoid any gotchas.
Regards,
TCIII

Hi,

I used the Dev Kit to create my current ROV. Overall, your right, its pretty straight forward and not very hard to work with. If I had any hiccups with it, it was usually my error, trying something that the BBB could not handle or something I didn’t research before doing it and then researched after discovering it would not work. Oops…

Anyways, if you need any help, feel free to reach out.

-Carter

Hi Carter,

Thanks for the response, much appreciated.

I have a Blue Robotics BlueROV1 Frame and I am debating whether to mount the controller in a WTC that is parallel to the ROV sides like a 6 thruster chassis I have built or turn the WTC perpendicular to the sides of the chassis like is done with the OpenROV chassis. I have requested a quote from Polulu as to the cost of laser cutting the Electronics Chassis, the Camera Frame, and the Topside Adapter Case if I decide to go with the OpenROV WTC configuration. Otherwise I will build my own Electronics Chassis to mount the Controller in a WTC that is parallel to the sides of chassis.

Regards,
TCIII AVD

Hi TCIII,

On my last ROV, I mounted the WTC parrael to the frame and seemed to work quite well. It took some testing to get the balance just right. How was your experience doing it with your previous ROV?