Noob question about battery pods

Hi Guys, First post so be gentle. I am looking at building a ROV and have what might be a stupid question:

Why are the batteries in 2 external pods with all that entails for complicating the pressure and water proofing problems? Why can't they be internal to the electronics section?

HI Paul

I would imaging for recharging purposes it would be less problematic to open the pods as opposed to the main chassis, also possible centre of mass reasons for stability and buoyancy.

Perhaps we can look at modifications later,my main aim is first to get an operating prototype and the easiest way is to follow in the path others have chosen.Like you I am new to this too. Good luck.

James

Paul:

Putting the batteries in the electronics section would shorten the distance between the center of mass and the center of buoyancy of the vehicle, degrading its stability.

-W

I get this but you could use some other type of ballast in the pods for stability and keep the

batteries in the main compartment and maybe use some kind of inductance to charge the batteries. It seems to me the biggest problem for these ROV's is water leakage at depths so the less places you have to water proof the better IMHO.

No matter, this site has inspired me to make one so I might start with the openROV as it is and experiment a bit. Thanks all...

Hi Paul:

If together with the batteries, a kind of ballast is added, buoyancy must be increased as well, and this, can only be achieved by adding volume.

If volume is increased while keeping the "single watertight compartment" concept, working pressure (depth) results drastically decreased unless wall thickness grows at the same time.

Some key submersible design starting points, that work one against the others, must be taken into account, and a choice must be made depending on desired features.

From a structural point of view: