No current from one battery tube

power
electronics

Hi everyone!

I always get the warning You are only drawing current from 1 battery tube. This may indicate a flooded tube, low battery charge, or a bad battery cell in cockpit. Battery tube 2 always shows no current at all in telemetry stream.

I already checked:

• no water in tubes
  • batteries are fully charged (also switched between tubes)
  • measured voltage on DB-25 connector (Pin 5 and 6) - both tubes at ~9.8V
  • measured voltage on Controller Board 2.8 (Pin 5 and 6) - both tubes at ~9.8V

As I’m a electronics noob I don’t know where to go on.
Any idea is appreciated - Thanks in advance!

Your checklists sounds very comprehensive and I would hardly think that this is a hardware defect. Have you updated to the latest OpenROV image / which is your current software version? For updating to the latest software follow the steps in this thread.

Thanks for reply!
The latest stable version 30.0.3 is installed. How can I check raw data from the controller board at runtime? I’ll also check socket messages for “frontend issues”.

Hi Dennis:

You’ve made a great start at narrowing down where the problem is, now you just need to take it a couple more steps.

There seems to be voltage getting to the DB-25 connector, so if no current is showing up in telemetry, then either the blocking diode for that channel is bad, or the telemetry circuit that measures current is bad. To figure out which it is, remove the batteries from Battery Tube 1 (the good side), and try to power your ROV. If it powers up, check the telemetry for both channels, and see whether both are reading zero. If that’s the case, then the telemetry circuit is bad.

If the ROV does not power up, then there’s something wrong between the DB-25 connector, through the Channel 2 blocking diode, and onto the ROV battery bus.

Once you’ve narrowed the problem down, you can then decide what further action to take.

-Walt

Hi Walt,