Newb ROVer - School me on making my first!

electronics
propulsion

Hello everyone,

You guessed it, I’m a newb. I’m looking to get my feet wet building an ROV. I have a couple 3D printers and looking to build an ROV from scratch with a number of parts provided by the OpenROV store.

I’ve already started my research and have a few critical questions I want to clarify in my head of which I’m unable to gain a clear answer to among all the web chatter.

1. So… the motors (as modified and provided at least by OpenROV) are seriously just in direct contact with the water? Absolutely no protection from the water. :fearful: That’s correct?

2. The outrunner brushless motors can only be used in this way because it uses magentic force to spin the shaft … inrunner motors not so much? That’s correct?

3. Ok… I contacted a few hobby stores and they looked at me like I had a squid on my face when I asked if their outrunner brushless motors would work underwater. They said - no.

Let’s translate…

Do they mean “no” as in “yes, but they’ll eventually burn-out as they corrode”?

Or

as in "No… you need to coat it in the rustoleum and that’s what OpenROV has done by default with their motors sold in their store?

In summary of point #3 … can you confirm the following: in theory I can go and buy any (no matter size, power, etc etc) outrunner brushless motor and use it underwater in direct contact with the water with a limited life span (fresh or salt water) and I can use that same motor with a longer life-span duration IF I were to follow the following instructions… http://openrov.dozuki.com/Guide/Waterproofing+2.6+thrusters+for+ocean+use+%28bearing+upgrade+and+motor+coating%29/57 ?

1. If one were to make an ROV that stayed above 20 ft depths of water, would it still require an air vent to balance pressure as it went down and up? Maybe someone can point me towards a link that could explain why it’s beneficial to have an air vent?