New OpenROV kits beyond Trident?

Hello everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster here – I’ve been trying to decide if I should get the 2.8 kit or wait for the Trident. I have zero experience with builds like this, so the out-of-the-box Trident is appealing, but on the other hand the ability to modify and add components seem a lot more limited.

When researching these forums a bit, I wasn’t able to find any information on the future plans for the DIY kits. Is the OpenROV team planning to keep developing these beyond Trident?

Completely unrelated, I was also wondering if this Spanish store (http://tienda.openrov.es/gb/) is an official partner of yours and if anyone have experience ordering from them?

Thanks!

Best wishes,
/Christian

What's the difference between Trident and 2.8
Searching this forum for Trident Threads

Hey Christian,

Glad to field this question.

This is really a tough call. I would definitely say get both if you can :slightly_smiling: but I understand that for most people that choice isn’t always an option. I can help guide you (and hopefully others) in this.

First I will talk about the 2.8 and the assembly. The 2.8 kit does require some tools and a little patience but the build is really fun and you will learn a lot. The instructions here can give you an idea of what you are in for. The 2.8 and instruction set are based on a few years of development and tons of feedback and most people regardless of experience level can do it. I also manage the technical support team and I can safely say that we will back you up 100% of the way. Need some clarification? We’re on it. Screw something up? A new one’s in the mail…it’s their goal to make sure these ROVs get in the water.

Okay, so the build isn’t that bad…but should you wait for Trident? Good question.