Modification of ROVs for stationary observations and passive acoustics

I was excited to learn about your company and its low-cost Trident ROV and I was wondering about the possibility of modifying units to be better designed for behavioral observations and passive acoustics. I am an expert in fish sound production behavior and over the years have approached various companies about this problem but to no avail. The problem with conventional ROV’s is that they generally have to keep moving, so they are great for exploration and running transects, but not really for undisturbed observation and sampling. They can hoover to maintain station if the currents are not too strong, but only by use of the thrusters. But I think a powerful alternative tool would be an ROV that gives you both ability to control movements for exploration and transects, but which can be set down with thrusters off to allow quiet observation. That has its own problems, but I think is doable, at least in low current environments. Unfortunately for me, I’ve not had funding to pursue this type of development myself, but have been advocating it for years (Rountree’s Fish Ecology Page and Do you hear what I hear?). So my dream unit would allow an ROV to carry one or more hydrophones in addition to cameras, and that could be set down in a stable position on the sea floor so that point-transect and roving transect type observations can be made more closely mimicking what a scuba diver can do. A user interface to allow display of acoustic data would be nice too…

I’d love to discuss the idea if you are interested. I really believe it would be a revolution in the way ROVs are used for in situ observational studies.

Greetings,