Lithium Polymer Battery Packs?

I'm an electric RC airplane nut so I'm already familiar with all the impellers and motor/esc combos you guys are using. I don't see any reason at all not to change your "C" battery tubes to be strings of lithium polymer batteries in series and parallel to give you much greater run time. The weight offset could be corrected using a little lead to make up for the lighter LiPo battery packs. Being rechargeable is a huge plus as well, but the longer run time would be huge in my intended use.

Have we discussed this before and i missed it, it can't really be considered cost-prohibitive since we are building ROV's. LOL The previous charging problems with LiPo's have been rectified by using balancing chargers that use a simple wiring harness to charge each cell individually. I am new to ROV's, but I can't really see an issue using them unless the PCBs are not compatible with the voltage combos of the 3.6v cells. Why aren't we already using LiPos for more run time and rechargeability?

Howto: Find the most popular posts of all time

Jason,

That's a very valid point that people bring up quite a bit. In short- yes, I think that would work. The main reason we haven't done it so far really just relates to development time (we're swamped with other development tasks as it is). As you mentioned, buoyancy and balance would also need to be corrected for, as well as making packs with a form factor that accepts the new batteries. I liked using batteries that could be found almost anywhere since during many remote expeditions, charging is not an option and turn-around time is crucial (of course, just bringing several sets of charged battery packs would work too). Anyway, the bottom line is that I think is something worth perusing, but don't have any time to peruse it. We could use help!

Eric