iPhone/iPad App

Hi,

I am an iPhone app developer, and I was wondering if an app is in progress. I would be happy to help write an app on Github!

For the app, a few basic questions need to be answered.

1) How is the ROV controlled? Is it in the browser, or in an alternate program?

2) How is video delivered?

Thanks,

Ahan Malhotra

www.randomwidgets.com

Hi Ahan,

The problem I see for a mobile app is, communication.

So far, the ROV communicates by ethernet to the topside computer, basically the BeagleBone computer in the ROV and the topside PC being in a network with only 2 peers. If you wan't to use an iPhone/iPad you would have to find a way to connect it to the wired network. One way would be to connect the wire from the ROV to a WLAN access point. The iPhone then would connect to the WLAN and you can connect to the ROV.

One thing you have to keep in mind is a power source. If you want to use your ROV dive into a cave or research a new dive site, you ususally don't have a 110/240V wall plug somewhere.

Although, the thought of an app on a mobile would be awesome!

Cheers

Dominik

The ROV hosts its entire interface via onbord computer that acts as a web server. Our goal is to ultimately make the ROVs controllable from anywhere on the internet (not just direct ad-hoc). If the ROV could connect directly to a wireless router, and that router could relay the interface via WiFi, it seems that using a mobile devise like a phone or tablet would be no problem! We're also looking into making GUI interfaces for the ROV modifiable, so that would be a fun topic to explore as well when considering use through mobile devises.

Is it possible to connect the ROV to a battery powered wireless router?

Here is one I found online: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833704138&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords--pla--NA-_-NA

Thanks,
Ahan