IMU problems

Hi everyone. I'm new to ROV. Just finishing my build. I have an expensive aircraft part to recover from a high mountain lake i need to get done before freeze up so I am time limited. It fell off the aircraft on take off on floats. Value $40,000. Its too deep and too high for a diver. ROV is my only real viable option.

Most recently I installed the IMU and when we modified the code it basically killed the ROV. Battery indicator showed almost dead batteries even though they were fully charged, and nothing would work.

My buddy who helped with the code came by this past weekend and we backed the changes out of it and all is well. I still have a few minor bugs to work out, one thruster runs one direction only, and the camera freezes often, but at least its alive again with the IMU turned off.

I'm going to verify my connections to the IMU but I was careful to get them right when I installed them.

Since the IMU is potted I cant do anything with it. If its defective I may have to order a replacement.

Anybody have this problem before?

Hey Rick,

Would love to follow the play by play on the recovery operation!

As far that the IMU goes, what version of the software are you using. The default that is installed on the beaglebone, or have you burned a version on a SD card?

Assuming you are using the 2.5 stable build that was shipped on the beaglebone, can you elaborate on the symptoms a little more when the IMU is enabled:

1) Did the cockpit software load in the browser?

2) If it did load, did you see telemetry on the right hand side?

3) On the lower right hand side, we have system time and run time. Is run time progressing continually or constantly reseting?

-Brian

It’s the latest version Brian, 2.6. The instructions say to download Putty and modify the code in two places. I had a buddy do that for me since I’m more of a nuts and bolts kind of guy.