How to start this project?

sos

i am a student ,these days i intented to DIY my own ROV. but there are so many files about software.what is the relationship between these files or how can i find some useful information about this ?

So we are starting to put some additional documentation in place, but it is slow going. At the moment, it helps to be comfortable with either Arduino/C++ or Javascript/HTML to work with the code.

@badevguru I am a postgraduate too. I have an openrov now.so I want to get the data of all the sensores and video streamer .and then I hope to store these data to verify some algorithm, for example I can apply to monocular obstacle avoidance. But I have no ideal where I should modify. I am afraid of I don’t know the openrov how to communication with the hardware , and which code is it .the source code I haven’t entirely understand .so what I have said can you understand. And would you like give me some advice to tell me how to make it. Any ideal is help! I am very appreciate for it. thank you so much.

To get started, I recommend interfacing with the socket.IO api. That is what the javascript front end uses to talk to the node.js server running on the beaglebone. There are many libraries for socket.io so you can use other languages Just make sure you use a socket.io library that is for version 1.0 or higher of socket.io.

Socket.io is basically web sockets with some additional meta data.

Using the 30.0.3 release which is the stable release:

Note: The interfaces are under active development and so some modules such a lights are in transition.

So to figure out how to turn on/off lights, I will take a look at the lights node module. Most of the functionality is in the form of plugins. The plugins have the portion that runs on the beaglebone that is in the root of the plugin folder, and the part the runs in the browser that is in the \public subfolder.