Hello. OpenROV Mechatronics Engineering Intern + Trident's External Payload

Hello.

Just wanted to introduce myself to you guys. My name is Rey and I will be working at OpenROV until the end of this year. I am a Mechatronics Engineering student at the University of Waterloo, Canada, and originally from Indonesia. I am actually taking a year off of school because I think what we do here at OpenROV is very interesting, and would be a great experience for me. I truly believe the vision of OpenROV - from underwater exploration to the magic school bus (if you know what I’m talking about) - and just love the fact that the team here is really passionate of what they do. So for me, it was a really easy and simple decision to take a year off of school and join OpenROV. I am relatively a simple guy. Other than work, I read books, play guitar, and sing.

I am currently working on the external payload for the Trident. The idea is to develop a generic payload for the Trident so that we can add sensors, lights, etc. to the Trident and the payload should be controllable using WiFi. This is an interesting concept because as some people might already knew, WiFi signal does not travel far underwater. However, after doing some preliminary test, we found that WiFi signal can travel for a very short distance underwater (about 2-3 inches). The reception should be even better when the surface that holds WiFi module and Trident are touching. So, if we attach this external payload at the bottom of Trident, we should be able to make them communicate with each other. Right now the candidates for the WiFi module that will be used are ESP8266 and Particle P1 (similar to Particle Photon that is based on P0).

There are three main parts of this project: software (and firmware), electronics, and mechanical.

What I have so far:

Software + Firmware:

• Cockpit plugin: I’ve created a cockpit plugin to control external lights with WiFi.