Electronics for external lights

Hi all. I would love to get some tried and tested cube lights from the store but $70 shipping to the UK isn’t an option and there’s aways a nasty sting in the tail with the import duty.
I can get all kinds of different CREE LEDs from RS Components and i already have some optically clear epoxy for potting. I’m a digital engineer but I’m afraid my analogue knowledge is very poor so I wonder if I could get some answer to the following:

1. Is the OpenROV 2.8 plug 'n play with the 2 PWM channels, i.e. just connect and they will work? Will they dim like the internal lights and can they be used independently of the internal lights?
  2. I believe the current limit is 700mA to avoid damage. What would be the best way to limit the current draw of the LEDs?
  3. What colour works best in salt water? Warm white, cool white? They are available in everything from 6000K to 2700K

Sorry, so many questions. It seems a bit cheeky when you guys have put so much research time in. I don’t suppose you’ve published the cube light circuits :blush:

Hi Andi,

I have connected a 10w LED directly to the Board without any Electronic in between And it works very Good . The Maximum Output is 2000ma . I can also dimm the LED as the internal ones. I think the Could white light is more eficient. The only disadvantage if you don’t use a constant current Source is that the light will be sometimes aliitle but darker if you Need a lot of current for the motors.

Hey, thanks. Can I ask, what LED did you use?
Do you have to map keys on the keyboard?
Andrew

Hey, i’m using this ones . I have bought it from eBay . To Switch on and dimm the external light press alt+ i

Dominique

Thanks Dominique, very helpful.
Andrew

Hi Andrew:

The circuit for the light cubes is open source- you can find it on our GitHub site. Go to the main OpenROV web page, and pull down the tab Open Source / Electronics. You’ll find a folder there for the External Light Cube Data Package.