Class Projects - Individual & Collaborative

This thread is meant to serve as a repository for class projects. I'd be interested to hear both what you're planning to do as an individual class (water quality, species ID, working with local Fish & Game departments, etc) as well as collaborative projects that we can all work together on (like Global Ocean Sampling Day).

What are you working on?

To OpenROV Community,

My name is Jason Pipkin and I am a STEM teacher in Metlakatla Alaska. Our small island has about 300 students k-12 on Alaska’s only Native Reservation. As we continue to seek engaging curriculum for our students we came across OpenROV.

Working with David Lang and partnering with our local Fish and Wildlife Department our students are working to build a submersible for fish monitoring. On a small island that relies on the fishing industry, quality and consistent monitoring is critical. Using an ROV will allow professionals to do aspects of their job faster, cheaper and safer. Our students are learning math and science standards while developing a passion for STEM careers.

Our project started with a lengthy report outlining the project scope and build. Teaming up with Austin Lord, our Industrial Arts teacher, the students have access to his wealth of knowledge and a full shop. Today our student are soldering, wiring and gluing there way to a functioning ROV that will serve as a proof of concept for our Fish and Wildlife department. The herring are on there way back to the spawning grounds around our Island so we are working hard to be ready.

A big thank you to the OpenROV team and David. The sprit you captured with your company is contagious. Thank you so much for this opportunity and inspiration. We will keep you posted on our progress…..

I would love to hear how other schools are incorporating this technology.

Jason Pipkin

Hello to the OpenROV community.