Changing gamepad settings in the cockpit

Hi!

I am very new to this and I am now trying to set up my OpenROV to run wirelessly by a nano router (as per the "community hack" here on the site) and controlled by a Logitech F710. It seems to work fine except the gamepad settings in the cockpit are a bit off. I can see what the settings are, but how do I change those?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Kristian

Mapping keyboard controls to xbox controller:

To be clearer: I get control of the vertical motor and forward/backwards on the horizontal axis of left and right stick, respectively. So all I am trying to do is to change the controls to more intuitive ones. But I can´t find any way to change the input settings.

Kristian

Hey Kristian,

I have not tried the 710, but the symptoms are consistent with other Logitech gamepads that are in the wrong mode. If you have a Direct/Xbox with on the back, try toggling it.

-Brian

Thanks Brian,

I can only get it to respond at all if it is in the "D" mode - not in "X" mode. That seems to be what most people have been working with as well - based on the limited info I have managed to find.

Are you running on Windows or a Mac? The Mac needs direct mode, the windows needs Xbox. Are you using Google Chrome?

I am on a mac, and the results are the same with firefox, chrome and safari...

Hey Kristian,

For some reason when I read this the first time, the point you made of just wanting to change the mappings went in one ear and out the other :-(. Okay, so to your question:

The right way to currently remap the gamepad settings is to create a plugin. You can copy the tank control plugin as an example: https://github.com/OpenROV/openrov-software/blob/master/src/plugins/tankcontrol/public/js/tankcontrol.js