Build Blog for OpenROV #358 (aka "Little Boy Blue") - Post 1

Hello Everyone!

My name is Leslie Bush -- I'm an Industrial Design student at Georgia Tech in Atlanta. I've been following OpenROV since about November 2012 after coming across their campaign page on Kickstarter. I’m happy to say I’ve finally acquired an OpenROV kit, and am absolutely ecstatic to build it. The final result will be on display at the Atlanta Mini Maker Faire in October.

A little about me: as an Industrial Designer/Product Designer, I am involved in the development of mass-produced products -- from raw idea to prototype to assembly line. Industrial Design creates physical solutions to intangible human needs. Just think -- why are people so attracted to the vehicles, robots, and planes? I believe it’s because they expand human potential, as well as satisfy our needs to innovate, inspire, and explore.

One major thing that attracted me to OpenROV is the technological sophistication behind controlling the robot -- piloting it is like something from a sci-fi movie or Japanese anime! Interestingly enough, science fiction plays a major role in influencing real-world technological developments. With collective knowledge from the entire OpenROV community, we have the potential to be apart of a modern robotics revolution.

I plan to blog my experience going through the version 2.4 tutorials, and will capture any successes, failures, or tutorial improvements I have along the way in order to make the build process more accessible for newbies such as myself. Hopefully this will get more citizen explorers excited and ready to build!

Stay tuned for Post 2: Internal Structure Assembly

Leslie

Build Blog for OpenROV #358 (aka "Little Boy Blue") - Post 2
Build Blog for OpenROV #358 (aka "Little Boy Blue") - Post 3
Build Blog for OpenROV #358 (aka "Little Boy Blue") - Post 5

Hello Everyone!