Assembling questions

I am a newbie and just started the assembling of my OpenROV 2.6
I am concerned about the cementing of the endcaps to make sure they can withstand
the water pressure. Since I would have to get it right on the first try and it would be
difficult to seal it should it leak at 100m. In the instruction video it shows that the cable
entry is sealed with hot glue on the outside and with epoxy on the inside. Would it be
better to use epoxy to seal the cable entry on both ends as it flows better than the hot
glue. Any suggestions. tips or tricks on how I can do this right would be greatly appreciated.

The hot glue is only intended to act as a dam to stop the epoxy flowing out the other side and can be removed once the epoxy has set. Just apply a good amount of hot glue around where the wires exit, then fill the whole feed-through with epoxy from the other side. On the opposite end-cap you can use tape to cover the exit and get a nice clean finish (the tape will peel right off the epoxy once set.

Other tips:

• Epoxy flows much better when warm, if you have a heat gun you can warm it in the tube, and/or once applied to get it to flow into corners and around wire, this will also help get any bubbles out. If the epoxy is starting to go off and becoming to thick to work, you can apply a little heat to get it to flow again.
  • Make sure you apply the recommended amount of acrylic cement at a minimum. If you use too much, the excess will spill out over the edges and will wind up with fingerprint marks on the acrylic but the bond will still be good, if you use too little you will have a poor bond, so if anything err slightly on the side of too much (the pictures in the guide show the perfect amount).