Arduino Mega and Beaglebone Black

Hello everybody.

This is Ahmed Mohamed I am a senior student in mechanical engineering. I would like to know what is the differance between the Arduino mega original one and the OpenROV one. I wanted to connect the beaglebone and arduino together. What makes me choose the OpenROV one over the original?.

Here is what I wanted to do...I would like to take the advantage of the beagle-bone (Ethernet) to send my control signal and receive video streaming and connect it with arduino to control the motors. Also I have the IMU of the openROV I do not know with which kit i will be using it (Beaglebone or Arduino)...I wondering if anyone could help to clarify everything to me as mechanical engineer I do not understand a lot of electronics stuff alone.

Thanks in advance.

Custom ROV For Senior Project

Hello,

Here are images of both boards you are deciding between for reference. To me I think the main deciding factor is what kind of motors do you want to use? If you want to use brushless motors and a beaglebone then that is specifically what the OpenROV control board is for. It also has not been locked into being too specific because Walt has brought out the extra headers so you can make it do lots of things. The control board has some extra features that will make it easy for you to do things like control LEDS, lasers, or similar devices (even a DC motor but only one direction) without hassle.