Alternative to Optical fiber slip ring approach

My name is David I am in my final year of robotic engineering in college. For my final year i have been given a project to complete in terms of robotics. My problem is the control of the length of fiber optic cable for a fiber opticaly controlled rov. The robot will be powered by an on board battery later so power is not a problem. The Optical fiber will more then likely be a single strand of single mode fiber as that is the most available in my college.

The project is to design and make a means of controling the length without the use of a fiber optic slip ring by implemeting some sort of a reel like aproach. It can be hand wound as automation can be dealt with at a later stage.

Though i have found small bits of information talking about these slip ring alternatives i have been unable to find any examples of them being used or any designs or detailed explinations about how they work so it is very hard to understand what is being said and hence begin designing my own solution. I have recently been looking at David Camerons set up with their ROVs Jake and Elwood but again i cant find designs or detailed explinations of how it works.

As i have to actuallly create this reel and test it in a lab I am very worried that I will not be able to complete this task. I realise this is a bit of a stab in the dark but if you could offer any information to help me it would be greatly appreciated!

1938-ghostsoftheabyssarticlejakeelwood.jpg (33.1 KB)

I have a suggestion that popped into my head: fishing reel principle. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Fishing_reel.svg

Just at a larger scale, and instead of the reel itself going up and down, you can drive a level wind screw to put the layers.