Advice for a someone with a sparked interest

Hi, I found this forum and the story of OpenROV while looking up underwater robotics, which has sparked my interest as a budding oceanographer. How should I go about starting to learn about how underwater robotics works and how to start building my own DIY projects? I have no background in engineering or programming, but am extremely interested and willing to learn.
Thank you for your time,
-B

Hey B,

welcome to OpenROV. I think you have come to the right place. This platform is a great way to start exploring the oceans with little experience! I have the following ideas:

Firstly, building your own ROV is an exciting adventure that I would truly recommend! You do not require any particular DIY experience but you still have a lot freedom for your own ideas. Have a look at the building guides for an idea how the built works. The explanations are very easy to understand and if you face some issues we are here to help. Building the ROV will guide you step by step to your own ocean exploration and you will learn a lot! However, this obviously comes with a bit of initial investment.

Secondly, you may try to contact local explorers to get a feel for the project and its opportunities. Share your location and maybe someone can take you to a dive. Also have a look at OpenExplorer which collects a lot of the current dive projects. Maybe someone is close to your area.

If you have more questions, feel free to share them!

Hi B,

You’ve definitely come to the right place for guidance and assistance. Most of us have a lot of DIY experience and design some of our own underwater units.

Here are my recommendations on where to start for reference material:
The ROV Manual, Second Edition
Underwater Robotics : Science, Design and Fabrication