Additional Thruster option idea?

Hey Everyone

So I am new to the underwater ROV world and have come into a unique and fun challenge that I am hoping some people come up with a kind heart and help me out.

I have been challenged with a project for a company to complete some underwater inspection in rivers in northern Canada. The problem being that most rivers I am looking to float in flow at 4-5 knots, and the open rov design only goes at 2 knots. Based on a lot of googling and looking around there is nothing that is economical that can go over 2 knots. So I have purchased the open rov 2.7 kit with the open design and going to figure someway to give it some boost.

My ideas are as follows:

• look at replacing the existing thrusters with bluerobitcs t200 thrusters. However with the delay and the price not sure if that would work.

• second idea is motifying the existing the frame, buy adding a second battery tube on either side. I would mount extra thrusters to and power off the new battery bays. As I do not want the options to turn the the additional thrusters on remotely, could not I not power the new thrusters from the new battery tubes and share the ESC that the existing thrusters are plugged into?

Any help would be great. As I said I a new to this idea and love this open concept and sharing of ideas.

If the rivers are flowing at 4-5 kts, I would at least recommend at vehicle that can do 6-7 kts to have any sort of maneuverability. I’m unfamiliar with anything that can do that speed underwater that isn’t in the shape of a torpedo.

With that being said, you might want to take a look at my Work Class OpenROV thread. There’s a lot of good info in there that might help you. I’ve successfully used T-100’s, but I have a few T-200’s also on order that will be upgraded over time.

Just saying the obvious streamline as much as possable

Have a look at @Ben_McCandless unit to give you thoughts